Facebook Twitter Google RSS

MS Dhoni wins LG People’s Choice Award, captains ICC ODI Team of the Year 2013

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has won this year’s LG People’s Choice Award. He overcame this year other nominees  Australia’s Michael Clarke, England’s Alastair Cook, India’s Virat Kohli, and South Africa’s AB de Villiers to win the award.

Dhoni succeeds India's Sachin Tendulkar (2010) and Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara, who won it in 2011 and 2012.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has also announced its Test and ODI Teams of the Year.

The Test team will be led by Alastair Cook, England captain and the one Day team will be led by Indian captain MS Dhoni.

The ICC Test Team of the Year is (in batting order):

Alastair Cook (Eng, captain)
Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind)
Hashim Amla (SA)
Michael Clarke (Aus)
Michael Hussey (Aus)
AB de Villiers (SA)
MS Dhoni (Ind - Wicketkeeper)
Graeme Swann (Eng)
Dale Steyn (SA)
James Anderson (Eng)
Vernon Philander (SA)
12th Man: Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind)

ICC ODI Team of the Year (in batting order)

Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)
Shikhar Dhawan (Ind)
Hashim Amla (SA)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
AB de Villiers (SA)
MS Dhoni (Ind, captain and wicketkeeper)
Ravindra Jadeja (Ind)
Saeed Ajmal (Pak)
Mitchell Starc (Aus)
James Anderson (Eng)
Lasith Malinga (SL)
12th Man: Mitchell McClenaghan (NZ)

South Africa’s Dale Steyn secures his spot in the ICC Test Team of the Year for the sixth successive year whereas Mahendra Singh Dhoni finds a place in the ODI side for the sixth consecutive year.

The selection panel included ICC’s Cricket Committee chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble, Waqar Younis, Alec Stewart, Graeme Pollock and Catherine Campbell.

Featured Update

Nokia launches Nokia X, Nokia X+ and Nokia XL Android Smartphones

25 February 2014: Nokia has announced the launch of Android smartphones in the Mobile World Congress held at Barcelona, Spain. The company ...