Facebook Twitter Google RSS

Sachin Tendulkar conferred Member of the Order of Australia

Indian cricket maestro Sachin Tendulkar became the first Indian sportsperson to  be conferred with the Membership of the Order of Australia, the highest honour for persons for achievement or for meritorious service.

The honour rarely conferred to non-Australians was announced by the Australian Prime Minister Julia Gillard in India. t be handed over to Sachin from Simon Crean, Minister for the Arts and Minister for Regional Australia, when he visits India.

The 39-year-old Tendulkar will be awarded an Member of the Order of Australia  AM, which is one of the six grades in the Order of Australia.

The order is divided into general and military divisions, with the following grades in descending order of seniority:
Knight or Dame of the Order of Australia (AK or AD - Civil division only - Closed to new appointments in 1986)
Companion of the Order of Australia (AC)
Officer of the Order of Australia (AO)
Member of the Order of Australia (AM)
Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM).

The other cricketers who has received this award include Brian Lara in 2009, Sir Garfield Sobers in 2003 and Clive Lloyd in 1985.

Featured Update

Nokia launches Nokia X, Nokia X+ and Nokia XL Android Smartphones

25 February 2014: Nokia has announced the launch of Android smartphones in the Mobile World Congress held at Barcelona, Spain. The company ...