Facebook Twitter Google RSS

Bharat Ratna eligibility criteria revised, now sports persons can also win

New Delhi, 17 December 2011: Government of India has modified the rules for awarding the Bharat Ratna, the highest civilian award in the country.

As per the new rules, citizens from any field of human endeavour can be considered for the award. Earlier persons from art, literature, science and public service were only considered. The change comes after the Ministry for Home Affairs and Prime Minister of India agreed to revise the eligibility criteria to allow sportspeople to receive the award.[

This change in the criteria is expected to pave way for several world class sports persons such as Sachin Tendulkar, Dhyan Chand, Viswanathan Anand etc to be nominated for the coveted award.

Till date there are 41 recipients for the Bharat Ratna and the last three winners were Pandit Bhimsen Joshi (2008),  Ustad Bismilla Khan (2001), Lata Mangeshkar (2001).

Featured Update

Nokia launches Nokia X, Nokia X+ and Nokia XL Android Smartphones

25 February 2014: Nokia has announced the launch of Android smartphones in the Mobile World Congress held at Barcelona, Spain. The company ...