Facebook Twitter Google RSS

Nobel Peace Prize 2011 for Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee & Tawakkul Karman

New Delhi, 7 October 2011: The Nobel Peace Prize for 2011 goes to three women, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkul Karman for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work.

The trio include two Liberians and one Yemeni lady. The prize money will be divided in three equal parts between them.

Johnson Sirleaf, a Harvard-trained economist, was elected president of Liberia in 2005.

Gbowee, a trained social worker and mother of five, wins the award for her work in bringing an end to the long war in Liberia.

Karman, serves as chair of Women Journalists Without Chains, a non-governmental organization that works to promote civil rights and freedom of speech in Yemen.

Featured Update

Nokia launches Nokia X, Nokia X+ and Nokia XL Android Smartphones

25 February 2014: Nokia has announced the launch of Android smartphones in the Mobile World Congress held at Barcelona, Spain. The company ...