Facebook Twitter Google RSS

ICC Test Team of the Year 2011: Sachin, Zaheer listed

Mumbai, 26 August 2011: The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced its Test Team of the Year 2011.

The team is as follows
(in batting order):

Alastair Cook (Eng)

Hashim Amla (SA)

Jonathan Trott (Eng)

Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)

Kumar Sangakkara (SL - wicketkeeper/captain)

AB de Villiers (SA)

Jacques Kallis (SA)

Stuart Broad (Eng)

Graeme Swann (Eng)

Dale Steyn (SA)

James Anderson (Eng)

Zaheer Khan (Ind) (12th man)

Four countries are represented in the 12-man line-up and South Africa's Dale Steyn has earned a place in the ICC World Test Team of the Year for the fourth successive year. He was also a member of the ICC World Test Team of the Year 2008, 2009 and 2010.

India's Sachin Tendulkar makes the line-up for the third year in a row - having appeared in the ICC World Test Team of the Year 2009 and 2010 while South Africans Hashim Amla and Jacques Kallis, along with Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara, and England duo of Graeme Swann and James Anderson all appearing for the second year in a row.

Former Sri Lanka skipper Sangakkara is named as captain of the team.

The selection panel included West Indies former Captian Clive Lloyd , former South Africa spin bowler Paul Adams, former Pakistan batsman Zaheer Abbas, former New Zealand bowler-turned-commentator Danny Morrison and former England batsman Mike Gatting.

Featured Update

Nokia launches Nokia X, Nokia X+ and Nokia XL Android Smartphones

25 February 2014: Nokia has announced the launch of Android smartphones in the Mobile World Congress held at Barcelona, Spain. The company ...