Facebook Twitter Google RSS

South Sudan newest country: South Sudan Flag, Map, Capital, President

New Delhi, 9 July 2011: South Sudan has become the world's new nation today after getting independence from Sudan.

South Sudan was officially declared as a new country on 12:01 am today (local time). The capital of South Sudan is Juba and the new president is Salva Kiir. The new nation will be known as Republic of South Sudan.

South Sudan won independence from Sudan after nearly 50 years of civil war, a conflict that ended with an internationally mediated settlement.

South Sudan has the largest oil reserves in Africa outside Nigeria and Angola.

India's view on this is of a positive one, and it supports the existence of both Sudans.

Featured Update

Nokia launches Nokia X, Nokia X+ and Nokia XL Android Smartphones

25 February 2014: Nokia has announced the launch of Android smartphones in the Mobile World Congress held at Barcelona, Spain. The company ...