Facebook Twitter Google RSS

Ramon Magsaysay Award Winners 2011

Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation (RMAF)has announced the winners of 2011 awards - five individuals and one organization from Cambodia, India, Indonesia, and the
Philippines will receive Asia’s premier prize, the Ramon Magsaysay Award. The Awardees
are as follows:

Alternative Indigenous Development Foundation, Inc. (AIDFI), from the Philippines. The
organization is being recognized for “their collective vision, technological innovations, and
partnership practices to make appropriate technologies improve the lives and livelihoods of the rural poorin upland Philippine communities and elsewhere in Asia.”

Harish Hande, from India. He is being recognized for “his passionate and pragmatic efforts to put solar power technology in the hands of the poor, through a social enterprise that brings customized,affordable, and sustainable electricity to India’s vast rural populace, encouraging the poor to become asset creators.”

Hasanain Juaini, from Indonesia. He is being recognized for “his holistic, community-based
approach to pesantren education in Indonesia, creatively promoting values of gender equality, religious harmony, environmental preservation, individual achievement, and civic engagement among young students and their communities.”

Koul Panha, from Cambodia. He is being recognized for “his determined and courageous
leadership of the sustained campaign to build an enlightened, organized and vigilant citizenry who will ensure fair and free elections -- as well as demand accountable governance by their elected officials -- in Cambodia’s nascent democracy.”

Nileema Mishra, from India. She is being recognized for “her purpose-driven zeal to work
tirelessly with villagers in Maharashtra, India, organizing them to successfully address both their aspirations and their adversities through collective action and heightened confidence in their potential to improve their own lives.”

Tri Mumpuni, from Indonesia. She is being recognized for “her determined and collaborative
efforts to promote micro hydropower technology, catalyze needed policy changes, and ensure full
community participation, in bringing electricity and the fruits of development to the rural areas of Indonesia.”

Established in 1957, the Ramon Magsaysay Award is Asia’s highest honor and is widely
regarded as the region’s equivalent of the Nobel Prize. It celebrates the memory and leadership
example of the third Philippine President, and is given every year to individuals or
organizations in Asia who manifest the same sense of selfless service that ruled the life of the
late and beloved Filipino leader.

Featured Update

Nokia launches Nokia X, Nokia X+ and Nokia XL Android Smartphones

25 February 2014: Nokia has announced the launch of Android smartphones in the Mobile World Congress held at Barcelona, Spain. The company ...