Facebook Twitter Google RSS

Tendulkar named leading cricketer in the world 2010 by Wisden

Sachin Tendulkar has been named as the leading cricketer in the world for the year 2010 by Wisden. Interestingly it the first time that Tendulkar has won the award since it was initiated in 2003.

The winners of the leading cricketer award for the past years is as follows
2009 V. Sehwag India
The first to retain the award, he "broke Test cricket's sound barrier by scoring at more than a run a ball".

2008 V. Sehwag India
Took the task of opening Test innings to a new level, scoring at 85 runs per 100 balls in the calendar year.

2007 J.H.Kallis South Africa
Hit 1,210 runs in nine Tests, and 987 in ODIs. Also took 20 wickets in Test and 19 in ODIs.

2006 M.Muralitharan Sri Lanka
Took 90 wickets in 11 Tests, including 60 in his last six.

2005 A.Flintoff England
Inspired England to Ashes triumph in Test cricket's greatest series.

2004 S.K.Warne Australia
Bounced back after drug ban to take 70 wickets in 12 Tests, ten of which were won.

2003 R.T.Ponting Australia
Scored 11 international hundreds, including a superb 140* in the World Cup final.

Sachin Tendulkar is also named in Wisden's 2009 Test XI. Sachin will bat on 4th position in the test team which will be opened by Virender Sehwag. Also Mahendra Singh Dhoni, VVS Laxman and Zaheer Khan forms the Wisden's 2009 Test team.

The team is as follows

1) Virender Sehwag (India), 2) Tamim Iqbal ( Bangladesh), 3) Kumar Sangakkara ( Sri Lanka), 4) Sachin Tendulkar (India), 5) Jacques Kallis (South Africa), 6) VVS Laxman (India), 7) Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India, capt and wk), 8) Graeme Swann (England), 9) Dale Steyn (South Africa), 10) Zaheer Khan (India) and 11) James Anderson (England).

Featured Update

Nokia launches Nokia X, Nokia X+ and Nokia XL Android Smartphones

25 February 2014: Nokia has announced the launch of Android smartphones in the Mobile World Congress held at Barcelona, Spain. The company ...