Facebook Twitter Google RSS

Kirti Chakra, Shaurya Chakra, Sena Medal, Police Medals 2011 announced

The President has approved awards of 440 gallantry and other Defence decorations to Armed Forces personnel and others on the eve of the 62nd Republic Day Celebrations. This includes 05 Kirti Chakra, 21 Shaurya Chakra, 05 Bar to Sena Medal (Gallantry), 135 Sena Medal (Gallantry), 02 Nao Sena Medal (Gallantry), 03 Vayu Sena Medal (Gallantry), 28 Param Vishisht Seva Medal, 04 Uttam Yudh Seva Medal, 51 Ati Vishisht Seva Medal, 04 Yudh Seva Medal, 02 Bar to Sena Medal (Devotion to Duty), 38 Sena Medal (Devotion to Duty), 08 Nao Sena Medal (Devotion to Duty), 14 Vayu Sena Medal (Devotion to Duty), 02 Bar to Vishisht Seva Medal and 118 Vishisht Seva Medal.

In addition a total of five Mention-In-Despatches have also been announced for participating in Operation Rakshak.

On January 26, 2011 the President will confer the Ashok Chakra Award on Major Laishram Jyotin Singh (posthumous), announced earlier on Independence Day, August 15, 2010, before the start of the parade at the Rajpath.

755 personnel have been awarded police medals on the occasion of the Republic Day this year. President’s Police Medals for Gallantry to 11, Police Medals for Gallantry to 129 personnel and President’s Police Medals for Distinguished Service have been awarded to 82. Police Medals for Meritorious Service have been awarded to 533 personnel.

The full list of the recipients of awards is published by the press information bureau of India.

Featured Update

Nokia launches Nokia X, Nokia X+ and Nokia XL Android Smartphones

25 February 2014: Nokia has announced the launch of Android smartphones in the Mobile World Congress held at Barcelona, Spain. The company ...