Facebook Twitter Google RSS

ONV Kurup, Akhlaq Khan Shahryar wins Jnanpith Award for 2007, 2008

The Jnanpith Award for the year 2007 and 2008 has been announced. Noted Malayalam poet ONV Kurup and Urdu poet Akhlaq Khan Shahryar is the winners of Jnanpith Award for the year 2007 and 2008 respectively.

The awards were announced by Oriya writer and jury Sitakant Mahapatra.

Ottaplavil Neelakandan Velu Kurup (ONV Kurup) is a famous Malayalam poet and lyricist from Kerala, is one of the greatest living poets in India.

His noted works include Uppu, Aksharam, Agni Salabhangal etc. He is also winner of several awards and honours including Kerala Sahitya Academy award, Sahitya Academy award, Vayalar award etc. ONV Kurup who is also a Padmashri award winner has also penned many songs for Malayalam cinema. He is the fourth from Kerala to get Jnanpith award. The other three Jnanpith award winners from Kerala are S.K. Pottekad (1980), Thakazhi Siva Sankara Pillai (1984) and M.T. Vasudevan Nair (1995).

Akhlaq Khan Shahryar the winner of Jnanpith 2008 was born in Uttar Pradesh's Bareilly district, a well known Urdu poet, has received numerous awards including Uttar Pradesh Urdu Academy award, Sahitya Akademy award, Delhi Urdu Academy award and Firaq Sammaan.

Featured Update

Nokia launches Nokia X, Nokia X+ and Nokia XL Android Smartphones

25 February 2014: Nokia has announced the launch of Android smartphones in the Mobile World Congress held at Barcelona, Spain. The company ...