Facebook Twitter Google RSS

Pennagarm Bypoll: Pennagarm assembly byelection on March 27, 2010

Three women bureaucrats will manage the March 27 byelection to the Pennagarm assembly constituency in Tamil Nadu.

Dharmapuri District Collector and District Electoral Officer P. Amudha, Returning Officer Maheswari Ravikumar and Deputy Suprintendent of Police Panchavarnam will be managing the byelection for the constituency, for which filing of nominations has started.

The run-up to the bypoll attracted attention when around 20,000 voters were ordered to be added to the electoral list just before the declaration of the byelection schedule.

Six independents filed their nominations Wednesday and AIADMK candidate R. Anbazhagan is expected to file later Thursday.

It is largely going to be a four cornered contest with ruling DMK's P.N.P. Inbasekaran, PMK's G.K.M. Tamizhkumaran, AIADMK's Anbazhaagan and DMDK's Kaveryvarman fighting it out.

The last date for filing of nominations is March 10. While the scrutiny of the nominations will be done March 11, the last day for withdrawal of candidature is March 13 and counting of votes will be held March 30.

Featured Update

Nokia launches Nokia X, Nokia X+ and Nokia XL Android Smartphones

25 February 2014: Nokia has announced the launch of Android smartphones in the Mobile World Congress held at Barcelona, Spain. The company ...