Facebook Twitter Google RSS

New BJP Leadership Team - Hema Malini, Varun Gandhi inducted

Bollywood star Hema Malini makes it as vice president and Pilibhit MP Varun Gandhi as secretary in Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Nitin Gadkari's new leadership team of 121 members.

Gadkari's jumbo team, including 13 vice presidents, 10 general secretaries, 15 secretaries and a treasurer, also gives place to former Rajasthan chief minister Vasundhara Raje, now a general secretary.

"The list is such that people from Andaman to Jammu and Kashmir, from Gujarat to Assam are being represented. It is a balanced list with women, Dalits, tribes, all included," BJP chief spokesperson Ravi Shankar Prasad told reporters.

He said the team will bring new enthusiasm in the party. "It is a blend of young and experience."

The office bearers include 13 women. In all, there are 40 women members in the new team.

Gadkari has also constituted a 12-member BJP parliamentary board.

Gadkari will head the board whose other members include Atal Bihari Vajpayee, L.K. Advani, Murali Manohar Joshi, M. Venkaiah Naidu, Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley and Bal Apte.


Featured Update

Nokia launches Nokia X, Nokia X+ and Nokia XL Android Smartphones

25 February 2014: Nokia has announced the launch of Android smartphones in the Mobile World Congress held at Barcelona, Spain. The company ...