Facebook Twitter Google RSS

Mani Shankar Aiyar, Javed Akhtar nominated to Rajya Sabha

Former union minister Mani Shankar Aiyar and lyricist Javed Akhtar were among five people nominated to the Rajya Sabha Friday by President Pratibha Patil.

The three others nominated to the upper house of parliament are Ram Dayal Munda, Bhalchandra Mungekar and B. Jayashree, according to an official statement.

The nomination has been made against the vacancies caused by the retirement of nominated members, the release added. (IANS)

Featured Update

Nokia launches Nokia X, Nokia X+ and Nokia XL Android Smartphones

25 February 2014: Nokia has announced the launch of Android smartphones in the Mobile World Congress held at Barcelona, Spain. The company ...