Facebook Twitter Google RSS

Indian Team for T20 World Cup 2010 Ranganath Vinay Kumar New Face

Bangalore pacer Ranganath Vinay Kumar was the lone new face in the 15-member squad announced by the cricket selectors Friday for the Twenty20 World Cup.

Chief selector K. Srikkanth and his colleagues decided to go ahead with Gautam Gambhir and Ashish Nehra, who were injured while playing for Delhi Daredevils in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Ishant Sharma and Virat Kohli failed to find a place in the team.

Vinay Kumar was finally rewarded for his consistent performance in the domestic circuit, especially with Bangalore Royal Challengers. Vinay Kumar is the joint second highest wicket-taker in the IPL with eight scalps.

Leg-spinner Piyush Chawla also found a place while selectors preferred the experience of Rohit Sharma to strengthen the middle order.

Team: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag (vice-captain), Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Zaheer Khan, Praveen Kumar, Ashish Nehra, R. Vinay Kumar, Dinesh Karthik, Rohit Sharma and Piyush Chawla

Featured Update

Nokia launches Nokia X, Nokia X+ and Nokia XL Android Smartphones

25 February 2014: Nokia has announced the launch of Android smartphones in the Mobile World Congress held at Barcelona, Spain. The company ...